干货系列

LIO-Livox 算法开源: 一个鲁棒的激光-惯性里程计

2021-08-03

仅用单台Livox Horizon (含内置IMU) 实现高鲁棒性的激光-惯性里程计,可在各类极端场景下鲁棒运行,并达到高精度的定位和建图效果。

凭着独特的类固态旋镜式扫描方式和极致的产品性价比,Livox 一经面世便颠覆了业内对高性能激光雷达价格昂贵的认知。为帮助用户迅速上手这种新型的激光雷达,Livox陆续开源了各类感知算法的适配,用Livox 激光雷达实现了优秀的性能。

 

同时,我们也发现部分用户在高速场景SLAM时遇到一些挑战。为帮助用户打开思路,本文尝试仅用单台Livox Horizon (含内置IMU) 实现高鲁棒性的激光-惯性里程计,可在各类极端场景下鲁棒运行,并达到高精度的定位和建图效果。

 

图1:系统以 80km/h 左右时速穿过长达 4 公里的隧道。

 

图2: Demo车顶的前向的Horizon激光雷达。

 

视频1: Demo车在横穿隧道实时Slam(带相机视角对比)

 

下面对本开源系统做进一步的说明。

 

系统由ScanRegistration和PoseEstimation两个模块组成:

ScanRegistration模块负责从原始点云中去除动态物体并提取特征点供位姿估计使用;

 

PoseEstimation模块,主线程进行IMU初始化和状态估计,同时另一个线程构建和管理特征地图。

图3: 系统流程图。

 

去除动态物体_ScanRegistration模块

在城市场景中,通常会有很多动态物体,比如车辆,行人,这些物体会影响激光雷达或者相机的定位鲁棒性和精度。因此需要一种快速去除动态物体的点云分割方法。

 

我们使用欧式聚类方法将原始点云聚类为地面点(蓝色),背景点(绿色),和前景点(黄色),如下图所示。其中前景点(黄色)被视为动态物体,并在特征提取过程中去除。去除之后,系统在动态场景中可保持很高的鲁棒性,即便激光雷达的大部分视场角被动态物体遮挡,也可以准确地定位和建图。

 

图4:点云分割示意图。

蓝色点:地面;绿色点:背景;黄色点:前景动态物体;

 

提取特征点_ScanRegistration模块

我们需要设计一种特征提取方法,使得特征点在空间中尽可能广泛和均匀地分布在6个自由度上面,以提供更多约束来稳住系统。这样即使在一些空旷场景里可提取的特征点非常少,也能防范系统在某些自由度上发生退化。

 

此外,在特征点少的场景中,一些不规则的点也可以提供有用的约束。我们将这些不规则的点提取出来单独作为一类进行点云匹配和地图维护。

图5:特征提取流程图。

 

如下图所示,根据点的局部几何性质我们将特征点分为三类:边缘特征,平面特征,和不规则特征。首先将每条扫描线上的大曲率点和孤立点提取出来作为边缘特征。然后使用主成分分析法区分平面特征和不规则特征。对于不同的距离,特征提取使用不同的阈值,这样便可使能特征点在空间中的分布尽可能均匀。

图6 特征点示例

绿点为边缘特征点;粉色为平面特征点;蓝色为不规则特征点;

 

IMU 初始化_PoseEstimation模块

 

在PoseEstimation模块中,根据不同的融合模式,系统可使用IMU预积分或者匀速运动模型来消除点云的自运动畸变,然后进行IMU初始化。如果初始化成功了,系统将从LO模式切换到LIO模式,否则系统将继续运行LO模式并尝试进行初始化。

 

在LO模式中,我们使用帧到模型的点云配准方法来估计传感器位姿。受ORB-SLAM3算法的启发,我们将最大后验概率估计的方法适配到IMU初始化中,一步联合估计IMU偏置,速度,以及重力方向。这种方法不需要特定的运动过程,系统可在任意运动状态下(静止、运动或混合状态)完成初始化。既考虑了传感器自身的不确定性,也可得到最大后验概率意义下的最优解。

 

在初始化完成之后,系统将执行一个基于滑动窗口的紧耦合传感器融合模块来优化窗口内的IMU位姿、速度和偏置。

 

与此同时,系统使用一个额外的线程来并行地构建和维护一个全局地图。

 

鲁棒性验证_整体系统

我们在各类城市场景中做了大量的测试,系统表现出了良好的鲁棒性。在各种极端的场景中,都可以正常运行。

 

如上文隧道场景中,由于场景单一,激光SLAM极易发生退化。而我们的系统可穿过4公里长的隧道不发生退化,这主要得益于Livox Horizon足够远的量程和准确的测量精度,仅靠 81.7°的前向FOV, 便可获得场景中的各类信息,如隧道里零散的指示牌和墙壁上的凹槽。这些信息与IMU的紧耦合给容易发生退化的方向提供了约束,实现了对退化的抵御。

 

而在城际公路场景中,场景较空旷,结构化程度较低,可利用的信息不多,而且高速路上车辆运动速度快,很容易发生退化。但由于我们选用的特征提取方式,灯杆,路牌,植被等信息都得到了充分的利用,相关特征点提供了前进方向上的约束, 使系统在城际公路场景中也有着出色的鲁棒性。

 

如下视频所示,我们穿越了十公里以上的城市路段,其中经过了密集的高楼区,住宅区,高架桥,快速路,隧道,山林等,期间遇到多次堵车,并持续伴有很多动态车辆。系统表现良好,鲁棒性极高,各种极端场景均未失效,且精度较高,构建的点云地图与谷歌地球配准后表现良好。

 

视频2:demo车在城际公路实时Slam(带相机视角对比)


 

在城市场景中,往往有大量的动态物体。特别是发生堵车的时候,大量的动态车辆一方面会造成激光雷达的视野遮挡,一方面容易带偏位姿估计。我们的系统去除了动态物体,极大程度地避免了动态物体的影响,能很好地应对高动态的城市场景。

 

视频3:demo车在城市场景实时Slam(带相机视角对比)

 

结语

我们以鲁棒性为目标,开发了一个适用于室外场景的车载平台激光惯性里程计。Livox Horizon的优秀性能为我们的算法提供了最合适的硬件平台,最终实现各种极端场景中的高鲁棒性。即使只用了一台激光雷达Horizon和内置的6轴IMU,我们的系统依然得到了出色的表现。为了让用户更好地了解和使用我们激光雷达,本系统代码已开源到github上,并提供详细的使用说明。

Technical Article Series

a Robust LiDAR-inertial Odometer with LIO-Livox Open-source Algorithm

2021-8-4

In this article, we offer a solution by using a single Livox Horizon unit (with a built-in IMU) to create a robust LiDAR-inertial odometer that operates robustly in various extreme scenarios and delivers high-precision localization and mapping results.

With its unique solid-state rotating-mirror scanning technology and ultra-competitive cost-performance ratio, Livox has completely changed the industry perception that high-performance LiDAR sensors must come with a hefty price tag. To help users implement this new LiDAR technology quickly, Livox has introduced a number of sensor algorithms adapted to unleash Livox LiDAR’s superb performance.

 

Meanwhile, we noticed that certain users have been experiencing some challenges when applying the device in high-speed SLAM scenarios. In this article, we offer a solution by using a single Livox Horizon unit (with a built-in IMU) to create a robust LiDAR-inertial odometer that operates robustly in various extreme scenarios and delivers high-precision localization and mapping results.

 

Figure 1: The system travelling through a 4-km tunnel at 80km/h

 

Figure 2: A forward-facing Livox Horizon LiDAR mounted on the roof of a demo vehicle

 

Video 1: SLAM when the demo vehicle travels through the tunnel (with comparison from camera’s point of view) 

 

The following is a description of the open-source system.

 

The system consists of two modules: ScanRegistration and PoseEstimation.

ScanRegistration is responsible for filtering dynamic objects from the raw point cloud and extracting features for pose estimation.

 

In the PoseEstimation module, the main thread performs IMU initialization and status estimation, while the other thread generates and manages the feature map.

Figure 3: System workflow 

 

Dynamic objects filtering_ScanRegistration

 

Multiple dynamic objects can appear in an urban scenario, such as cars and pedestrians, which may impact the robustness and precision of LiDAR or camera’s localization feature. Therefore, a point cloud segmentation method is required for filtering dynamic objects fastly.

 

We use the Euclidean clustering method to group the raw point cloud into ground points (blue), background points (green), and foreground points (yellow), as shown below. The foreground points (yellow) are treated as dynamic objects and therefore filtered out during the feature extraction process. After the filtering, the system will be able to maintain high robustness in dynamic scenarios, and localize and generate maps with great accuracy even when LiDAR’s field of view is largely blocked by a dynamic object.

 

Figure 4: Illustration of point cloud segmentation

Blue points: ground; green points: background; yellow points: dynamic objects in the foreground.

 

Feature extraction_ScanRegistration

The·feature·extraction·method·needed·here·is·one·that·can·spread·the·features·as·wide·and·evenly·as·possible·across·the·six·degrees·of·freedom,·in·order·to·create·more·constraints·to·stabilize·the·system. If this is achieved, we can prevent system degradation for certain degrees of freedom even when only a few features are extracted from an open-space scenario.

 

Besides, irregular features can also act as useful constraints in scenarios with fewer features. We extract these irregular features as a separate category for use in point cloud matching and map maintenance.

Figure 5: Feature extraction workflow

 

As shown below, features can be categorized into the following three types based on their local geometric properties: corner features, surface features, and irregular features. First, extract the points with large curvature and isolated points on each scan line as corner features. Then use the PCA method to distinguish between surface and irregular features. Different thresholds should be used for the extraction of features at different distances, enabling the features to spread as evenly as possible across the space.

Figure 6: Illustration of features

Green points are corner features, pink points are surface features, and blue points are irregular features.

 

IMU initialization_PoseEstimation

 

In the PoseEstimation module, the system may use the IMU preintegration or uniform motion model, depending on the fusion mode, to remove self-motion distortions from the point cloud and perform IMU initialization. If the initialization is successful, the system will switch from LO mode to LIO mode; otherwise it will continue operating in the LO mode and attempt to perform initialization.

 

In the LO mode, we use the frame-to-model point cloud registration method to estimate the sensor’s pose. Borrowing from the principles of ORB-SLAM3 algorithms, we adapt Maximum A Posteriori estimation to IMU initialization, to simultaneously estimate IMU’s bias, velocity and gravitational orientation. This·takes·into·consideration·the·uncertainty·of·the·sensor·while·achieving·an·optimal·solution·based·on·a·Maximum·A·Posteriori·estimation. This takes into consideration the uncertainty of the sensor itself while achieving an optimal solution based on the Maximum A Posteriori estimation.

 

When the initialization is completed, the system will execute a tightly-coupled sensor fusion module based on sliding windows to optimize IMU’s pose, velocity and bias in the window.

 

Meanwhile, the system uses an additional thread to generate and maintain a global map in parallel.

 

Robustness testing_Entire system

We have conducted numerous tests in various urban scenarios where the system exhibited great robustness. It was able to operate normally in a range of extreme scenarios.

 

For instance, the tunnel environment described above is prone to laser degradation for SLAM due to the plain nature of the scenario. Our system is able to travel through a 4-km tunnel without experiencing degradation primarily because of extensive range and high measurement precision of Livox Horizon. With only a  81.7° forward-facing FOV, it can acquire a multitude of data from the scenario, such as those on randomly placed traffic signs in the tunnel and grooves on the walls. The tight coupling between these data and IMU act as constraints and safeguards for any direction prone to degradation.

 

Laser degradation tend to happen more easily on intercity highways due to their open space nature and the lack of structural objects - which generates fewer usable data - as well as the higher travelling speed of cars on highways. However, the feature extraction method we have opted for ensures that various data including those on lampposts, road signage and vegetation can be fully utilized. The relevant features provide constraints for the forward-moving direction, thus enabling the system to operate with exceptional robustness even on intercity highways.

 

As shown in the video below, we travelled more than 10km of city roads, driving past dense high-rises, through residential areas, under overpasses, over highways, and through tunnels and forest areas. We encountered several traffic jams where we were continuously surrounded by moving vehicles. The system performed well and showed a great robustness, without any failure in various extreme scenarios, and demonstrated a high level of precision. The point-cloud map functioned well after being registered on Google Maps.

 

Video 2: SLAM when the demo vehicle runs on an intercity highway (with comparison from camera’s point of view) 


 

A large amount of dynamic objects can appear in an urban scenario. This is especially true during traffic jams, where many moving vehicles can block LiDAR’s vision while creating bias in pose estimation. Our system filters out dynamic objects and greatly minimizes their impact, enabling the device to well respond to any ultra-dynamic urban scenario.

 

Video 3: SLAM when the demo vehicle travels in an urban scenario (with comparison from camera’s point of view) 

 

Conclusion

With robustness as our goal, we have developed a vehicle-mounted LiDAR-inertial odometer suitable for outdoor use. The superb performance of Livox Horizon makes it an optimal hardware platform for deploying our algorithms and achieving superior robustness in various extreme scenarios. Despite·using·only·a·single·Livox·Horizon·unit·built-in·with·a·six-axis·IMU,·the·system·was·able·to·deliver·remarkable·results. To help users better understand and use our LiDAR sensor, we have shared on GitHub the source code for this system along with detailed user instructions.

 

Github Source: https://github.com/Livox-SDK/LIO-Livox